Profiles‎ > ‎

Prof. Sanjay Mehrotra (BE '83), Distinguished Professor & Optimization / Healthcare Engineering Expert

posted Sep 12, 2012, 6:08 PM by IITRAANA Admin   [ updated Sep 12, 2012, 6:09 PM ]
Prof. Sanjay Mehrotra (BE '83) is a Professor in Industrial Engineering and Management Sciences at McCormick School of Engineering, Northwestern University.

Sanjay Mehrotra is an Optimization and Healthcare Engineering expert. His current methodology research focus is in the area of Optimization and Decision Making under Uncertainty. He has contributed to algorithmic development in continuous, discrete, stochastic, robust, multi-objective, and risk adjusted optimization. His Healthcare Engineering work includes predictive modeling, hospital operations modeling, and policy modeling on varied health problems using modern operations research tools.

Mehrotra is widely known for his predictor-corrector method and his contribution to Optimization Research. Professor Mehrotra has published his work in journals such as Mathematical Programming, SIAM Journal on Optimization, Mathematics of Operations Research, Operations Research, Optimization Methods and Software, IIE-Transactions, INFORMS Journal on Computing, Journal of Global Optimization, SIAM Journal on Computing, SIAM Journal on Numerical Analysis, Analyst, Bioinformatics, BMC BioInformatics, Annals of Surgery, and Healthcare Management Science.

He is the chair-elect of INFORMS Optimization Society for Year 2011-2012. He is a department editor for Optimization for the Institute of Industrial Engineers society journal IIE Transactions, and the area editor for Optimization area for Asia Pacific Journal of Operations Research. He is also on the editorial board of Operations Research. He has been a vice-chair of the INFORMS optimization section on computational optimization and software, and a co-director of the Optimization Technology Center between Northwestern University and Argonne National Research Lab. In addition, he has been a vice-president of chapter/fora and a board member for the Institute for Operations Research and Management Sciences.